Students selected for WSU Honor Scholar Reception

Written by Annette Berntsen, copy editor

Five juniors were selected to attend the Shocker Honors Scholar Reception that took place on Nov. 12 and 13. Luke Bellar, Stephanie Brozovich, Collin Koester, Joshua Koester, and Amy Zoglmann were chosen as they are the top 10 percent of the class based on class rank. The reception was held to recognize and celebrate this accomplishment and took place at the Rhatigan Student Center at Wichita State University.

Of the five juniors selected, two attended the reception: Brozovich and Zoglmann. When they got there, the students were allowed to visit with college students and teachers and talk about the fields they were interested in.

“It was kind of like a normal college fair, but just for WSU,” Brozovich said.

After that, everyone filed into a large room for the ceremony. During the ceremony, speakers talked about life at the college and named off each student in attendance. The students would then receive a certificate and take a picture with the WSU mascot.

“I felt honored and special,” Zoglmann said. “I’m planning on going to WSU for college.”